Federal Banking Regulatory Agencies Examination and Enforcement Authority


This practice note provides an overview of the following federal banking authorities: the Federal Reserve Board (FRB), the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), and the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) (collectively, "the Agencies"), and their examination, investigation, and enforcement responsibilities granted by Congress. This practice note explores various enforcement methods granted under the law, and includes a chart comparing the various enforcement actions used by each agency. This practice note generally addresses the Agencies' supervisory authority and examination process, which includes a review of relevant enforcement actions that may inform practitioners' regulatory strategy.